Dolce and Gabbana Sex Ads.

Continuing my research into looking at advertisements aimed at men, I came across a set of Dolce and Gabbana advertisements where their running theme appears to be sex.

Dolce and Gabbana

On first instinct, I am disgusted at the implications of this advertisement. Here we see a female lay in an alluring pose with four men confidently standing over her. This shows that the men have a somewhat superior power over her and may ‘control’ her. It could also suggest very strong implications of ‘gang rape’. In personal opinion, I cannot see any need to suggest such messages when you are simply trying to sell a piece of clothing!

However, in the same range of advertisements, I also found this:

Dolce and Gabbana 2

Although still portraying the sex theme throughout this advertisement, it appears that role reversal is taking place. It shows women in a position of power! This is like ‘stepping outside of the box’ for an advertising campaign; we very rarely see it! Nevertheless, once again I am in a place of mixed opinions. Dolce and Gabbana’s reason for doing this is obviously to make themselves be seen more by using controversial views to attract attention towards their products. Despite this, I don’t feel that this is necessary at all leading me to the conclusion and distressing question; Do we need to portray sex messages in advertisements just to sell a product, whether its male or female?

3 thoughts on “Dolce and Gabbana Sex Ads.

  1. Hi, I have seen these ads before and found them really shocking but as you say, I think that is the point! (regardless of how female consumers may feel about it!) Here is a link which shows an “anti-ad” by the organisation Adbusters. I have a post on my blog which links to an essay I wrote about them if you want any more info πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

